Topic: Militia - LHN - 2/9/6
New South Wales Mounted Rifles
History, Part 4, 1893
New South Wales Mounted Rifles [1888 - 1903]
2nd (New South Wales Mounted Rifles) Australian Light Horse [1903 - 1912]
9th (New South Wales Mounted Rifles) Australian Light Horse [1912 - 1918]
6th (New South Wales Mounted Rifles) Australian Light Horse [1918 - 1941]
6th (New South Wales Mounted Rifles) Motor Regiment [1941 - 1943]
6th Australian Armoured Car Regiment [1941 - 1943]
6th (New South Wales Mounted Rifles) Motor Regiment [1948 - 1949]
6th New South Wales Mounted Rifles [1949 - 1958]
Royal New South Wales Regiment [1958 - 1960]
Toujours pret - Always Ready
The following is the forth extract from a manuscript written by an anonymous author. The hand written manuscript outlines the history of the 2nd ALHR NSW Mounted Rifles from commencement in 1888, until 5 April 1899, when history ceases. From the internal evidence of the manuscript, it appears to have been composed sometime from July 1903 to 1904.
The forth extract from the manuscript.
Headquarters to Campbelltown, 1893.
On 1st March 1893, the Regimental Headquarters of the Mounted Infantry Regiment was transferred from Sydney to Campbelltown.
Major HB Lassetter, Officer Commanding the Mounted Infantry Regiment, was granted 12 months leave of absence from the 25th March 1893 and Lieutenant Colonel MM McDonald was appointed to temporary command of the Mounted Infantry Regiment in addition to the New South Wales Cavalry Regiment from the 16th June 1893.
On 1st August 1893, the New South Wales Cavalry Regiment, and the Mounted Infantry Regiment, were constituted in a Mounted Brigade, which will be styled "The New South Wales Mounted Brigade".
Mounted Infantry to Mounted Rifles
The Mounted Infantry Regiment will from the same date be styled the "New South Wales Mounted Rifles".
Colonel MM McDonald, was appointed Colonel and Commandant of the Brigade.
Commanding Officer - Major HB Lassetter.
Adjutant - Captain Sparrow.No. 1 Company (Captain Lloyd)Liverpool 2 Divisions
Campbeltown 2 Divisions
No. 2 Company (Captain Antill)Picton 2 Divisions
Camden 2 Divisions
No. 3 Company (Captain Bland)Bega 2 Divisions
Queanbeyan 2 Divisions
No 4 Company (Captain Chauvel)Tenterfield 2 Divisions
Inverell 2 Divisions
Captain Chauvel assumed command of the Mounted Rifles during the absence of Major Lassetter on leave.
Duff and Hutton Competitions, 1893.
On the 16th and 17th October 1893, the first competition for the "Duff Challenge Cup" and "Hutton Shield" took place on the Randwick Rifle Range.
The "Duff Challenge Cup" was open to sections of four men; points being given for turnout and general appearance, riding, shooting and words of command. This competition was won by a section from No.2 Picton Half Company of the Mounted Rifles commanded by Sergeant Farrier Hill. The Mounted Rifle Regiment securing the first six places in the competition.
The "Hutton Shield" was open to teams consisting of one Officer, one Sergeant and 12 men. Points to be allotted the same as in the Duff Competition, course about two miles. This competition was won by the Mounted Rifles, the successful team being from No. 4 Tenterfield Half Company, commanded by Lieutenant Thomas. The Mounted Rifles secured the first three places in the competition.
Headquarters to Sydney, 1893.
On 1st November 1893, the Headquarters of the Mounted Rifles was transferred from Campbeltown and located on the premises of the Headquarters, Mounted Brigade, Sydney.
Captain Sparrow, adjutant of the Mounted Rifles was appointed Acting Staff Officer to the Mounted Brigade, in addition to his duties as adjutant of the New South Wales Mounted Rifles from 1st October 1893.
Major Lassetter, having returned from leave in England on the 7th December 1893, re-assumed command of the Mounted Rifle Regiment from that date.
Citation: New South Wales Mounted Rifles, History, Part 4, 1893